Menu Close

Episode 6

Let's Get Digital

January 10, 2019

CSPS Digital Academy

Read 📗 (5 min read)

In Episode 5, we talked about what “GCdigital” means to you. In this episode, we explore how you can take steps to increase your digital literacy—in other words, how you can use digital technology and communication tools as part of your day to day work. This could include accessing and managing information and communicating with others.

Last week a colleague shared this definition of digital literacy from the BC government: “Digital Literacy is the interest, attitude and ability of individuals to use digital technology and communication tools appropriately to access, manage, integrate, analyze and evaluate information, construct new knowledge, and create and communicate with others.”

This definition is relevant to public servants who might be wondering what the heck is all this talk about digital, and why should I care? Learning how digital can help us is the key—we encourage you to learn about what is out there to make your work life easier.  

Watch the video or listen to the podcast with our guest Chahine El Chaar, Director of Modernization, Innovation and Delivery, who shares how his department, Innovation Science and Economic Development (ISED), brought in a digital office to change how employees work, to modernize the workplace and to increase efficiency.

The point is to jump in—you can take big steps or small ones. A great way to get started is to join GCconnex or GCcollab—online sites where you can connect with other public servants and share ideas and information. There are hundreds of groups you might find interesting (policy, HR, grants and contributions, etc), or you can start a group of your own. 

We want to help you do this—our goal is to provide you with tools to improve your knowledge and skills through easy to consume, timely, and relevant content related to digital in government.

Over the next few months at busrides.ca, we will be highlighting examples of public servants across the country who have started including digital in their day-to-day work. They will share their best practices and lessons learned with us.

If you have found something that has helped you we’d love to hear about it so we can share with others. Send us an email!

What's Your Digital Office Score?

How well equipped are you to work digitally? Answer the questions to get a score and suggested resources for your workplace.

Related Resources

Want access to Innovation Science and Economic Development (ISED)’s Digital Office Transformation roadmap? You’ll find it under the Culture Change topic on Square.

Digitization in the Government

In light of the digital revolution, the government has no choice but to automate its services. An absolute necessity and way to improve services to citizens.

Other Content

No votes yet.
Please wait...

2 Comments

  1. Mary Lestage

    This is great!

    Rating: 5.0/5. From 1 vote.
    Please wait...
  2. Isaac

    Really great insight about implementation of some of the new tools. I think getting people onboard and comfortable with things like OneNote, GC Docs and videoconferencing is going to make all the difference in the broader modernization movement. Training and support will be critical. There are many initiatives going on at StatsCan, but many employees are still behind the curve because the don’t understand how to use some of the new technologies.

    Rating: 5.0/5. From 1 vote.
    Please wait...

Comments are closed.

Menu Fermer

Épisode 6

Passons au numérique

10/01/2019

Académie du numérique de l'ÉFPC

Lire 📗 (temps de lecture : 5 min)

Dans l’épisode 5, nous avons discuté de ce que signifiait l’expression « GCnumérique » pour vous. Dans cet épisode, nous nous pencherons sur ce que vous pouvez faire pour accroître votre littératie numérique. En d’autres termes, nous verrons comment vous pouvez utiliser la technologie numérique et les outils de communication dans le cadre de vos tâches quotidiennes; ce qui peut comprendre l’accès à l’information, la gestion de l’information et la communication avec d’autres personnes.

La semaine dernière, un collègue m’a fait parvenir cette définition de la littératie numérique, tirée du site Web du gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique : « La littératie numérique est l’intérêt, la manière et la capacité des personnes à utiliser correctement la technologie et les outils de communication numériques afin d’accéder à l’information, de la gérer, de l’intégrer, de l’analyser et de l’évaluer, de créer et d’acquérir de nouvelles connaissances, et de communiquer avec d’autres personnes. » [traduction libre]

Cette définition est pertinente pour les fonctionnaires qui pourraient être en train de se demander : « mais qu’est-ce que cette histoire de numérique, et en quoi cela me concerne-t-il? » Il est très important de savoir comment le numérique peut nous aider. Nous vous encourageons à vous informer sur ce qui existe pour faciliter votre travail.

Regardez la vidéo ou écoutez le balado auquel participe notre invité, Chahine El Chaar, directeur de la Modernisation, de l’Innovation et de la Livraison. Il nous explique comment son ministère, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE), a mis en place un bureau numérique pour changer la façon dont les employés travaillent, pour moderniser le lieu de travail et pour accroître l’efficacité.

Pour ce faire, il faut se lancer : vous pouvez y aller à pas de géant ou de souris. Une bonne façon de commencer est de joindre les communautés de GCconnex ou de GCcollab. Ces sites Web vous permettent de communiquer avec d’autres fonctionnaires et d’échanger des idées et de l’information. Des centaines de groupes pourraient vous intéresser (politiques, RH, subventions et contributions, etc.). Vous pouvez aussi créer votre propre groupe.

Nous voulons vous aider à y parvenir. Notre objectif est de vous fournir les outils dont vous avez besoin pour améliorer vos connaissances et vos compétences à l’aide de contenu convivial, rapide et pertinent au sujet du numérique au gouvernement.

Au cours des prochains mois, l’équipe de trajetsenbus.ca vous présentera des exemples de fonctionnaires aux quatre coins du pays qui ont décidé d’inclure le numérique à leurs tâches quotidiennes. Ils nous feront part de leurs pratiques exemplaires et des leçons qu’ils ont tirées.

Si vous avez trouvé quelque chose qui vous a aidé, nous vous prions d’en parler afin que d’autres puissent en profiter. Envoyez-nous un courriel!

Milieu de travail numérique : quel est votre score?

Dans quelle mesure êtes-vous équipé pour travailler dans le numérique? Répondez aux questions pour obtenir un pointage et des ressources pour votre milieu de travail.

Ressources connexes

Pour accéder à la feuille de route d’ISDE sur la transformation du bureau numérique, consultez la rubrique Changement de culture sur Square.

La numérisation au gouvernement

Avec l’avènement de la révolution numérique, le gouvernement doit automatiser ses services. Il s’agit d’une absolue nécessité et d’une excellente façon d’améliorer les services aux citoyens.

Autre contenu

Date de modification :

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *